Life Happens

27 Mar

It’s been over 3 months since I last posted. Why? Life, mostly. I went on a New Year’s Eve cruise with the family (I would wholeheartedly recommend New Years Eve cruises, by the way, but more on that later); I started my last semester of law school (which was supposed to be easy, but for some reason totally is not); we listed our house for sale and started looking for a new one (which is a story in itself); and on top of all that, I started to realize that we are actually planning on starting a family this year. In short, my life felt like it was going 45,297,529,867 miles an hour

I starting feeling overwhelmed and overworked, so I stopped writing.

As a result of all the craziness, I recently started reading a book called Breathe: Creating Space for God in a Hectic Life. And that is what I have been making an effort to do: breathe. Take defined time to take breaks and rest and connect with God.

So, you might ask, how does adding one more thing to my plate by starting to blog again help me to breathe and slow down? Because this blog almost forces me to take time for myself and do things I enjoy. Shortly after I stopped blogging, I stopped baking. I stopped working on my photography. But, if I feel like I need to do those things because I need to blog about them, I will actually do them and I will actually take time for myself.

As a side note, I recently found a print from Fresh Worlds Market that perfectly expresses my new goal:

So, I’m back, smiling, breathing, and trying my best to go slowly (or at least slower).

One Response to “Life Happens”

  1. leasexpert March 27, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    I’m addicted to breathing – can’t stop doing it. It’s intensely rewarding! Plus, unlike other addictive activities, the more you breaths you take the longer you live.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

