Kodak EasyShare Z990 Max Camera Review

10 Aug

The first item on my pre-baby list was to learn to take amazing photographs. Unfortunately, my Nikon Coolpix, though wonderful, just wasn’t doing it for me. I wanted something that had at least some manual options. I also wanted something that took better pictures on auto mode.

I made a list of cameras that I would like. Then, I looked at prices and lowered my sights a bit. (Sorry, future baby, $600 for a camera is just too much if I am not a professional photographer – which I am not!) I found the Kodak EasyShare Z990 Max on Best Buy.com for $264.99.  That was much more in my price range. So, I bought it and I have experimented with it a bit.

Things I Love:

  • Full manual mode option
  • Aperture priority option
  • Shutter priority option
  • Dial to facilitate easy switching between different modes
  • Panoramic feature
  • Great photos, even in low light (see the picture of my nephew to the right. There were no lights on in the room, since he was sleeping and I couldn’t use the flash, also since he was sleeping.)
  • Automatic mode that takes nice pictures (the low light photo of my nephew is an example, as is the palm tree picture below.)
  • Stabilization (even when I take photos that use the zoom or photos with a long shutter speed, such as night photos, the pictures are rarely blurred)
  • Full HD video
Things I Dislike:
  • Lag time between photos (this isn’t really a killer for me, I am not taking photos of professional sports or anything, but it can be annoying when I want to quickly take a photo from another angle.)
  • Size (it seems much bigger after my little point-and-shoot!)
  • Battery cover can be difficult to close
  • Loud zoom (this may seem like an odd issue to have, but you can actually hear the zoom in some of my quieter videos!)
  • Battery life (I charged the batteries and took 189 pictures over a long weekend and the batteries were almost dead.)
Of course, this isn’t a professional photographer’s review of this camera. This is my I-want-to-take-cute-pictures-of-family review. If you are a hobbyist or someone who just wants to be able to take nice photos, this is a camera I would definitely recommend. This is a great point-and-shoot-plus camera. It has a great automatic mode with lots of room to experiment.
I leave you with a picture from my long weekend. Rest assured, more photos and reviews of things I did in Sarasota, Florida are soon to follow! Also, if you want to see more pictures taken with the Z990, click the “photography” blog topic to the right.
One Response to “Kodak EasyShare Z990 Max Camera Review”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Strawberry Iced Tea and Shutter Speed « The Preggers Plan - August 24, 2011

    […] how I want to learn to take amazing pictures before I get pregnant? Well, I bought my camera and now I am learning to use it, with the help of 31 Days to a Better […]

Leave a Reply

