Share your life: wedding shower (a/k/a Boozy Chocolate Cake!)

12 Aug

I have two favorite memories from my bridal shower. The first is the Boozy Chocolate Cake my aunt made. The second is my mother-in-law exclaiming “I did not raise him this way!”

To explain the first, this is a particularly wonderful memory since my aunt never drinks and she told us all that she had cooked all of the alcohol off of the cake. Definitely not. She baked a chocolate cake the day before, then put a great chocolate frosting between layers and on top and drizzled the cake with a boozy chocolate sauce. Then, she poured the sauce over the cake and reheated the cake briefly in the oven (giving it time to warm up and time for the sauce to absorb). She was convinced that since she had heated the sauce, the alcohol was gone. I am pretty sure that each slice was 1-2 drinks worth of alcohol. The best part was listening to her insist that there was no alcohol in it!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now, I was surprised to discover that I never got the recipe from her! This is a tragedy. But, I can tell you that you can use your favorite chocolate cake recipe as a base (recipes like this one (pictured on the left) or this one (pictured on the right) would be great). I am going to get her frosting and boozy chocolate sauce recipe and post it here ASAP. For you and for me. 😉

My second memory is sharing stories about our husbands/fiancees/boyfriends. We went around the room and each of us told a funny story about our significant other. Now, when it was my turn, I decided to tell a story about something funny my husband-to-be had said. I wish for the life of me that I could remember the story, but what I do remember is that it revolved around his fairly inappropriate sense of humor. After I finished the story, my mother-in-law exclaimed “I did not raise him this way!” To which all of the others at the party responded with their own stories of his inappropriate humor. For example, last Halloween we had a super hero themed party. Paul’s costume was Captain Climax. Yeah.

My two recommendations for a great wedding shower: Boozy chocolate cake and stories about significant others! The first one relaxes you enough to do the second one with enthusiasm!

2 Responses to “Share your life: wedding shower (a/k/a Boozy Chocolate Cake!)”

  1. teacher-chef August 12, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

    I love the shower-game idea… perfect time to talk about the good/bad/ugly of those we love the most (when they aren’t there to defend themselves OR get angry OR embarrassed) – CONGRATS as well (and thanks for the shout-out)

    • thepreggersplan August 12, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

      Thanks! I love your recipes, by the way! I know it’s completely off topic, but the stuffed peppers you posted a few days ago look amazing! My family loves stuffed peppers, but I never thought of adding zucchini, I am definitely going to give that a shot.

Leave a Reply

