Strawberry Iced Tea and Shutter Speed

24 Aug

Remember how I want to learn to take amazing pictures before I get pregnant? Well, I bought my camera and now I am learning to use it, with the help of 31 Days to a Better Photo.

The first thing I used to learn was the shutter speed. My camera has a shutter priority mode that allows me to adjust the shutter speed and leave the other settings on auto. So, I made myself a nice teapot of strawberry tea (recipe after the shutter speed lesson) and shot away.

31 Days to a Better Photo compares shutter speed to holding a cup under a faucet – the longer you hold the cup (the longer the shutter speed) the more light (water) you get. Too little and the pictures are dark. Too much and your pictures are over exposed.

I took photos in  a room with plenty of natural sunlight. I started at the lowest shutter speed and worked my way up. However, I skipped every other shutter speed because my camera has  a lot of shutter speeds and this was really just an exercise for me to understand shutter speed.

Shutter speed: 1/2000

Shutter speed: 1/1250

Shutter speed: 1/800

Shutter speed: 1/500

Shutter speed: 1/320

Shutter speed: 1/200

Shutter speed: 1/125

Shutter speed: 1/80

Shutter speed: 1/60

Shutter speed: 1/40

Shutter speed: 1/25

Shutter speed: 1/15

Shutter speed: 1/10

Shutter speed: 1/6

Shutter speed: 1/4

Shutter speed: 0.4″ (Here you see the other effect of slower shutter speed – it is easier to get blurry pictures)

Shutter speed: 0.6″

Shutter speed: 1.0″

Shutter speed: 1.6″

After 1.6″, the pictures were very overexposed, like this:

Now that you’ve seen my experiment with shutter speed, here is my recipe for strawberry iced tea!

Ingredients

1 large bag of tea (I used Lipton iced tea bags)

2 cups boiling water

2 cups of crushed ice

1/4 cup dried strawberries

Directions

  1. Brew the tea bag and dried strawberries in the boiling water for 3-5 minutes.
  2. Remove the tea bag from the tea pot and add ice.
Leave a Reply

