TV and Toddlers

8 Sep

I had a “Did You Know?” random fact moment today that I wanted to share.

Did you know that the American Academy of Pediatrics recommends no television for children under the age of 2?

Specifically, they said:

“Pediatricians should urge parents to avoid television viewing for children under the age of 2 years. Although certain television programs may be promoted to this age group, research on early brain development shows that babies and toddlers have a critical need for direct interactions with parents and other significant care givers (eg, child care providers) for healthy brain growth and the development of appropriate social, emotional, and cognitive skills. Therefore, exposing such young children to television programs should be discouraged.”

I was very surprised to learn this. I mean, I never gave a second thought to my friend’s 1 1/2 year old asking for Bubble Guppies (at least, I think that was what she was asking for . . . at that age, who really knows?).

I thought about this recommendation for a while. Can I really make it two years without sticking my kid in front of the tv so I can have just fifteen seconds to finish cooking dinner? I talked to Paul about it and he was actually totally supportive of trying.

Yes, that’s right, before we have even conceived, we have decided to try to keep our future baby tv-free for the first two years. Can we say planning excessively far ahead?

Leave a Reply

