Tips for a Great Fall Mantle (or how to redecorate for fall for under $100)

28 Sep

A few days ago, I was salivating over some of the creative fall decorations over at Etsy. I mentioned that it was cooling off here in Central Florida . . . that was a mistake. We had feels-like highs in the high 90s since then! SIGH. I guess I jinxed it . . . but truly, Florida weather, how can you tease me like this?

To make matters worse, I got so excited about fall that I went all-out decorating my living room. So now, sitting inside, you feel like the weather should be cool and crisp outside. Then, you step outside and melt in the heat.

But, on the bright side, my living room looks ready for fall, don’t you think?

And, I redecorated the whole room for $100!

Here are my Top Ten Tips for decorating a fall mantle and living room (without spending too much).

  1. Be sure to vary the height of your mantle decorations. This creates a few points of interest on your mantle and guides the eye across the mantle.
  2. Don’t fear filler! I debated whether to buy those leaves you see on the mantle. But they make great filler and keep the mantle from looking empty.
  3. Use traditional fall colors so that your room “feels” like fall, but through in an atypical color or two. For me, I used these dark purple hydrangeas.
  4. Don’t neglect the other spaces in your room just because your focal point is the mantle! I also made sure to have a few decorations standing on the floor/fireplace seat and I also decorated my tabletops.
  5. Find items that you can re-purpose. The candle holder sitting on the TV tabletop is from my wedding. I just switched out the pink and cream candles for orange and cream candles.
  6. When re-purposing, remember that you can sometimes disassemble things you already have around the house. These candle holders were originally part of a larger wrought iron candle holder. I took out the glass portions and scattered them around my room.
  7. Speaking of disassembling, remember that sometimes assembling a decoration yourself can save a lot of money without requiring too much work. For example, I bought a tin decoration and added scented branches to make this:
  8. Watch for sales! Most of the items in this room were 40-50% off at Michael’s!
  9. Use stores you might not normally think of to find craft supplies. I got some several of the items in this room (or their component parts) at Ross.
  10. Challenge your creativity! I was recently lamenting over the fact that some women can make such beautiful faux flower arrangements while I can’t. Well, it turns out I can! I made both of the arrangements in this room myself (tutorial soon to follow).
For more fall decoration ideas, check out this link-up:
One Response to “Tips for a Great Fall Mantle (or how to redecorate for fall for under $100)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Practical Changes to Prepare for Pregnancy « The Preggers Plan - October 22, 2011

    […] a more kid-friendly place to live. Not that I don’t love our current home. It’s cozy, fun to decorate for the holidays and it has a great little garden on the side. But, it’s not the place I want to raise my […]

Leave a Reply

