31 Days to Plan My Pregnancy – It Begins

1 Oct

I am a planner. I can’t say I always have been. I used to be the most awful procrastinator. I actually have a sticker from my high school days that reads “I’ll deal with my procrastination problem tomorrow”. No joke.

But I am a procrastinator no more. While planning my wedding, I discovered how stressful it can be to procrastinate. I wanted to enjoy my wedding day, not be worrying about the menu that I didn’t finish until the night before! I want the same thing for my pregnancy. I want to take this non-pregnant time to plan and prepare for my pregnancy so I can enjoy being pregnant instead of stressing about what I should and should not be doing.

I started this blog to record my progress in planning my pregnancy. Along the way, I found it was useful for a lot of other things as well, like posting recipes, posting about my vacations and generally considering life. But now it’s time for me to get back down to business. So for the next 31 days, I am going to be tackling the tough issues of pregnancy. I am not going to lie, some of them freaked me out. I’ve already had a multivitamin meltdown and I’ve only written a few of the 31 days worth of entries. But, I know that thinking about all of these things now will help me to have a calmer pregnancy later. Here is my roadmap for the next 31 days:

Week 1: Healthy Habits – This week I am going to talk about healthy habits that I should have during pregnancy and will begin before pregnancy so that they are already habits by the time I conceive.

Week 2: Becoming the Mom I Want to Be – I think we all have an image in our mind of the perfect mom. We know her character traits and her skills. This week, I think about the most important traits that I want to develop before I become a mom.

Week 3: Preparing for Pregnancy Symptoms – We can’t deny it – there are some uncomfortable parts of pregnancy. This week, I am going to look at the symptoms I worry about the most and figure out an action plan for dealing with them.

Week 4: Practical Changes – Being pregnant and having a baby requires a lot of practical changes in your lifestyle. This week, I will think about the practical changes that I should plan on making once I conceive.

Week 5: Enjoy Not Being Pregnant – The last few days of my 31 days are devoted to how I am going to enjoy not being pregnant. While I know that planning is important, I also know that I shouldn’t get too caught up in it or I will forget to enjoy now.

Leave a Reply

