Healthy Habits – Eat More Veggies

3 Oct

Cooking Light magazine has had a healthy habits challenge each month. One of the challenges was to eat more veggies. Another one of the challenges was to have one vegetarian day each week. Now, I am not sure that I could realistically do one vegetarian day each week while pregnant, but I want to get into the habit of eating more veggies, and finding some vegetarian dinners that I like is a good first step. One of my favorites so far was black bean quesadillas.

But I am getting ahead of myself. Why is it important to eat more veggies? Well, they have pretty much every vitamin from A-Z, are full of fiber (something we will discuss more during my Dealing with Pregnancy Symptoms week) and they generally a good bang for your buck calorie-wise.

To be honest, my veggie intake is . . . awful. I get maybe three servings a day. And that is probably generous. So, one of my pre-pregnancy goals is to start eating 5 servings of veggies a day. How do I plan to do that? Well, here are a few strategies that have worked well for me:

  • Try a spinach (or any type) salad for an afternoon snack. I sweeten up my spinach salads with diced tomatoes or berries. That provides a good dose of flavor and balances the sometimes bitter greens without adding the empty calories of salad dressing.
  • Add more veggies to  sandwiches. You can do this through lettuce, tomatoes, or (if you’re more creative/adventurous) hummus spread.
  • Serve your dinner on a bed of veggies. I try to buy veggies that are easy to chop or slice and steam, then I set the meat portion of dinner on top.
  • Keep carrot sticks in the fridge for a quick, easy snack

How do you work more veggies into your day?

5 Responses to “Healthy Habits – Eat More Veggies”

  1. Charminglykristin October 3, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    I do a green smoothies for breakfast! It has about 3 servings of veggies in it. I use kale, spinach, and cucumbers, then throw in bananas and strawberries some ice and coconut water. It is really delicious! You don’t taste the greens at all, just the yummy fruit!

    • thepreggersplan October 3, 2011 at 11:03 am #

      That’s a great idea! Do you use a blender to make the smoothie? I had thought about doing something like that, but I wasn’t sure if a blender would get leafy veggies smooth enough.

      • Charminglykristin October 4, 2011 at 9:35 am #

        I use my blender or magic bullet (it sadly died recently though). Sme blenders work better than others, but it should work! You can also buy fresh green smoothies at whole foods if you have one.

  2. Debra October 3, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    We try to eat 5-8 veggies a day here and usually manage it. Sometimes when we are running around on weekends it’s a bit harder. Carrots are a great idea. I also cut peppers (I like red the best) and cucumbers and keep them in the fridge. I also keep frozen green beans, corn, broccoli and peas in the freezer. They are inexpensive, always fresh and cook quickly. Looking forward to seeing your posts the rest of the month.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I appreciate it. 🙂

  3. ljc October 6, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    Hello all. I agree with you – 100% +. Thank you for the information. Bruce.

Leave a Reply

