Healthy Habit – Hydrate

4 Oct

72 ounces.

That’s how much water I am supposed to drink while pregnant. Now, as I understand pregnancy, you already have to pee all the time. How am I supposed to spend any significant portion of my life outside of the bathroom if I am drinking 72 ounces of water?

Now, why does it matter how much water I drink? It matters because it can actually reduce swelling. Crazy, but true. And since I would like to be able to squeeze my feet into those heels I just love, this is important to me. Now, before I seem too shallow to you, it is also important to keep the baby hydrated and carry nutrients to the baby. It can help prevent preterm labor, hemroids, constipation and bladder infections.

The net question is: Where am I now? I thought about all the fluids I drink. Soda, juice, coffee, water, everything.

½ cup of OJ – 4 ounces

1 cup of milk (in my cereal, of course) or 1 cup of water in my oatmeal (I’m counting it!) – 8 ounces

1 cup of coffee in the morning – 8 ounces

1 can of soda with lunch – 12 ounces

1 bottle of water in the afternoon – 24 ounces

1 large glass of water with dinner – 12 ounces

Total: 68 ounces

So . . . close . . . I need to work in 4 more ounces each day.  Just a half a glass of water.

So, I know my goal, (and I know that I am almost there!) but I still don’t know how I am going to keep myself out of the bathroom for a reasonable amount of time.

2 Responses to “Healthy Habit – Hydrate”

  1. Fantastico October 4, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    The water thing always confused me – are you really suppose to drink that much water? 72 ounce is a lot. That’s nearly 5 bottles of water a day – a bit more than half a gallon! Where did the 72 ounce thing come from, and does it include other sources of water such as fruit, cooking sauces, vegetables, and so on?

    • thepreggersplan October 4, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

      You’re actually supposed to get 2.7 liters of fluid each day. About 20% of your fluid intake comes from food, so if you reduce that amount by 20%, you get 2.2 liters (72 ounces). So that number actually already accounts for water you get from food.

Leave a Reply

