Healthy Habit – Sleep

5 Oct

Sleep is one of my favorite things. No joke. Short naps, long naps, long haul overnight, zoning out nearly to the point of sleep during boring meetings . . . I just love it. So, getting my 8-9 hours a night while pregnant should be a piece of cake . . . Except for two tiny things.

 

Well, actually the first thing is something that will be a big thing by the end of my pregnancy: my belly. You see, I sleep on my stomach. All the time. I’ve tried for the last few nights to sleep on my left side (the side you are supposed to sleep on while pregnant) – FAIL. I woke up every single morning on my stomach. And that was if I even managed to get to get to sleep on my side. In a perfect world, I would get one of these: http://www.babyage.com/pregnancy/comfort-pillows/todays-mom-coolmax-pregnancy-pillow-and-free-proud-dad-tshirt-80840.htm

 

But in a world where spending $100 on a pillow is just not in the cards, I think that this will have to do: http://www.walmart.com/ip/Get-It-Together-Body-Pillow-Black-White-Floral/16533312

If I find that just won’t work, then perhaps a less expensive ($40) version would work just as well as the $100 pillow: http://www.walmart.com/ip/All-Nighter-Total-Body-Pregnancy-Pillow-by-Leachco/2128727

The second thing is something that I have heard rumors about: that you have to pee all the time while pregnant, including in the middle of the night. Despite my devoted love of sleep, I have found that if I wake up during the middle of the night I start thinking instead of sleeping. I can only imagine how much worse this will get while I am pregnant. After all, there is so much more to think about! Slings, baby carriers, strollers, car seats, vaccines, cloth diapers versus disposable diapers, pacifiers, bouncy seats . . . I could go on. And these are just the things I can think of now – before I am even pregnant! Imagine the list I’ll have once I actually conceive! While my sleeping on my stomach problem may be easily solved by a handy pillow, I have a feeling that this one will not be so easily conquered. My only strategy so far is to stop drinking a few hours before I go to bed. Now, I know that this blog is supposed to be my plan, but on this particular issue – I don’t really have one! What were/are your strategies for not waking up 56,243 times during the night to pee while pregnant?

 

 

Leave a Reply

