Nurturing Momma

14 Oct

I didn’t realize how important being nurturing was to me until a recent conversation I had with my sister-in-law, Susan, and my friend, Cathy:

Cathy: I worry about having a second baby now. I am worried that since the second baby will be born when Harrison is going into Kindergarten, I won’t be able to give him enough attention while he’s making that transition. What if he needs help with his homework but I’m too busy with the baby?

Susan: I think you are too focused on nurturing your kids. I mean, no one ever helped my parents with their homework and they turned out just fine.

Holly: *totally dumbfounded and rendered completely speechless* (inside voice: Are you kidding me?!? Seriously?!? You’re nurturing your kids too much by making sure you are there for them when they need you?!?)

I want to be nurturing. I want my kids to know that I will be there for them when they need me. I want them to know that I will always be there. I think that security is important to give them the courage to go out on their own.

Another friend had previously told me about a nurturing habit that she has with her two kids that I absolutely love. She puts the kids to bed 30 minutes or so before actual bed time. She takes those 30 minutes to sit with her kids and talk to them or read to them, just her and one of her children. She alternates nights with each of the children and whichever child she isn’t with, her husband is with. I love that! I especially like that each child has time alone to spend with mom and time alone to spend with dad.

I plan on starting my nurturing early. Before they can understand the concept of a parent being there to support them emotionally, they can understand the closeness of having a parent that is close physically. Hence, my new additions to my Things I Want list:

Did you use slings or carriers with your kids? How do you let your kids know that you are there for them?

Leave a Reply

