Pregnancy Symptom #2 (pun intended)

17 Oct

Oh yes, we’re talking about it. Constipation. And hemorrhoids. It’s gross, but it affects over half of women during pregnancy. I don’t know about you, but I do not want to be in that half. So what am I doing to prevent it?

Fiber (duh). I’ve been looking for some easy ways to increase the fiber in my diet. Where am I getting this extra fiber?

  1. Cereal. Kashi makes some great cereals with high fiber content. Kashi’s Go Lean cereal has 40% of your daily recommended value of fiber per serving. And it’s only 140 calories per serving. And it tastes great. I like to add some blueberries to my cereal in the morning. Adding 1/2 a cup of blueberries adds another 7% of my daily recommended fiber content. I’m already at almost 50% of my daily recommended value and I haven’t even left the breakfast table yet!
  2. Bread. Arnold makes a line of wheat breads called Health-full breads. I love the Nutty Grain bread. It has 20% of your daily recommended fiber per slice. And 5 grams of protein per slice. And only 80 calories.
  3. Whole grain pasta. Switching from white to whole grain pasta drastically increases your fiber intake! For example, a serving of Barilla’s regular rotini pasta has 8% of your daily recommended value of fiber. The whole grain version has 24%! And there’s no difference in calories or fat!
  4. Fruit. As I mentioned before, I have started adding blueberries to my cereal in the morning to add an extra 7% of my daily recommended fiber. A single apple has 21% of your daily recommended value of fiber. And recent studies have supported the apple-a-day saying – eating one apple a day lowers bad cholesterol and increases good cholesterol. Pears are also great sources of fiber (29% of your daily recommended value!).
  5. Veggies. I’ve already talked about how important it is to get in your veggies every day from a nutrition standpoint, but getting in your veggies can also help prevent constipation. 1 cup of peas contains 30% of your daily recommended value of fiber. 1 cup of broccoli contains 18% of your daily recommended value.

Exercise. This one isn’t as obvious,  but working out can actually help *ahem* keep things regular.

Hydrate. Again, not as obvious, but making sure you get enough liquids can also help.

Have you found any high fiber foods that are both good for you and delicious?

Leave a Reply

