Pregnancy Stretch Marks

21 Oct

I was researching stretch marks and I read a quote that was the last thing I wanted to hear:

 If your mother or sister got stretch marks during pregnancy, you’re more likely to get them, too. 

 

This was followed closely bu the second last thing I wanted to hear:

Unfortunately, there isn’t much you can do. 

 

So, I did what any reasonable woman would do. I went to a different website. That one was much more encouraging.

“For those who are pregnant or experiencing the hormone changes of the teen years, it is crucial to moisturize,” Dr. Baumann says. “Skin becomes more pliant, more plasticized and better able to stretch when it’s well hydrated.”
She recommends moisturizing three or four times a day with products that contain cocoa butter or shea butter as a prime ingredient. Massage the moisturizer deep into breasts, belly, hips, and buttocks.

 

I say that all to say that I know there may be no preventing stretch marks for me. My mom had them and I will fight like hell not to have them. One way to reduce the chance of stretch marks is to gain pregnancy weight gradually. And, of course, there are plenty of products out there to help prevent stretch marks. I picked a few of the less expensive products, including some that aren’t marketed as stretch mark reducers to help keep myself moisturized.

  1. Palmer’s Shea Butter ($5.61 for 13.5 ounces at Walgreens)
  2. Johnson’s Be Radiant Coco and Shea Butter ($4.49 for 14 ounces on Amazon.com)
  3. Burt’s Bees Honey, Almond and Shea Butter ($12.99 for 6.5 ounces at Target)
  4. Burt’s Bees Mama Bee Belly Balm ($7 for 3 oz on Burts Bees website)
  5. Bio Oil ($9.79 for 60ml on Amazon.com)
Did you have any products or strategies that kept the stretch marks away?
Leave a Reply

