Travel: Near and Far

30 Oct

One important thing that I want to enjoy before I get pregnant is travel. My sister-in-law recently took her 4-month-old to China. Let’s just say a jet-lagged baby is not something I want to deal with. However, it’s not just far-away vacations that can be difficult with a baby or while pregnant, sometimes ones nearby can become difficult too.

My husband and I recently went camping in the Ocala National Forest. We stayed at the Clearwater campgrounds. It was beautiful! But not somewhere I would want to be while pregnant. Why? Well, first my eating habits while camping are horrible. Canned soup, pancakes from a bottle, you name it. Second, going to the bathroom at night involves what seems like a dangerous trek through dark woods in what is usually (with our luck) freezing or rainy weather. But, camping is still something that I want to be able to thoroughly enjoy. I understand that I probably won’t want to bring my pregnant self or a small baby out into the wilderness, so before I get pregnant, I want a chance to enjoy camping! And I think we were pretty successful:

Of course, the far trips can be difficult too. I once babysat for a couple who loved to go to football games. One weekend, they had a friend visiting from Hawaii. They had a 6-month-old who cried. All. The. Time. Unless you were holding her. And she was the biggest 6-month-old baby I have ever encountered. Or at least it seemed that way after holding her for 4 hours straight. Not only is the jet-lag awful (both coming and going), but the plane ride itself can be trying. No one likes a screaming baby on an airplane and I bet I wouldn’t like being the person with the screaming baby on an airplane.

So, Paul and I are going to take a pre-pregnancy-moon. We’re going to go somewhere far from us that I wouldn’t want to visit while pregnant: Napa Valley. 🙂

What were some trips you wish you had taken before getting pregnant and having kids?

2 Responses to “Travel: Near and Far”

  1. travelwithlaughter October 30, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    The pictures are great! The butterflies are awesome!

    • thepreggersplan October 30, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

      Thanks! I was so excited to get these kinds of close-ups!

Leave a Reply

