Thanksgiving Thursday: Chunky Veggie Chili

3 Nov

I know, who serves chili on Thanksgiving, right? I would have thought the same thing before I met my husband’s family. You see, in my family, Thanksgiving is one meal. You come at 5, you eat, you digest for 30-45 minutes, you have dessert and then you leave with ziplock bags of leftovers. That is not how Paul’s family does it. Thanksgiving with them is all day. Like, at least two meals all day. As in, I almost considered posting a breakfast recipe today. Yeah.

So, I say all that to say that Thanksgiving with the in-laws requires food for lunch. And I will be busy enough cooking already, so I need something that I can make ahead and just heat up. My solution is chili. Specifically, a chili full of veggies (I have to sneak those in for my dad and the younger siblings, otherwise they won’t have a single veggie all day!).

Ingredients

  • Non-stick cooking spray
  • 1 roll of ground spicy sausage
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1 green bell peppers, diced
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoon chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons cumin
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 5 cups of broth (I used 50/50 veggie and beef broth)
  • 1 large butternut squash, peeled and chopped
  • 1 32-ounce can no-salt stewed tomatoes, undrained
  • 2 15-ounce cans black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 15-ounce can red kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 15-ounce can pinto beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 15-ounce can cannelloni beans, rinsed and drained

Instructions

  1. Spray down a large stew pot with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. Heat the pot over medium-high heat.
  3. Brown the sausage in the pot.
  4. Add the onions and peppers. Cook for 3-5 minutes, stirring frequently, or until onions are transparent.
  5. Add the garlic and spices (chili powder through black pepper) and cook for 3 minutes, stirring frequently.
  6. Add the 5 cups of broth and bring to a boil.
  7. Add the butternut squash and tomatoes and simmer for 20 minutes.
  8. Add the beans and simmer for an additional 25 minutes.
  9. Enjoy immediately or store in the refrigerator for hungry future guests!
Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

